Post Graduation Plans

Do-not-wait-inspirational-quotes-for-lawyers-1024x796

   So recently (and by recently I mean in the past 6 months) I have decided that I want to pursue law school following graduation next spring. This is a choice that I have been mulling over for a while, and has been met with a variety of reactions from my friends and family. Some say things like “oh my gosh I can totally see you as a lawyer” while others just look at me like I have three heads.

     I came to the decision that I want to become a lawyer based mostly on my intense desire to change the world. I know that is such a “millennial social justice warrior” statement of me, but it’s the truth. There is so much crap going on in the world right now and instead of complaining about it on the internet, I actually want to get out there and do something about it. Becoming a lawyer and fighting for those less fortunate than I is the best way I can think of to do that.

     Like I said, this is a fairly recent decision for me, so I still pretty early on my path to discovery. So far I have begun to prepare for the LSATs, which I am planning on taking in September so that I have time to study over the summer, and have begun to work with the Pre-Law advisor at my college. This shift in focus has afforded me the opportunity of picking up a Law and Society minor in addition to my English degree. Unfortunately, this basically means that I am taking a whole minor in one year.
     My senior year class schedule looks so different from anything that I have experienced at my college thus far, and that makes me so excited. I have lived my past 2 years surrounded by English courses and suddenly I am taking classes with law, politics, and sociology designations. This whole change has allowed me to feel much more confident in myself because I finally have some sort of plan for my post undergrad life.

I know that this decision may seem shocking to some, but I hope that people can learn to accept that not all English majors want to become teachers.

-Meg

 

Photo from Pixabay

 

Leave a Reply

